Sunday, 31 July 2016

Sacrament Strand

This term we are beginning with the Sacrament Strand.
In year 2 we focus on the sacrament of  Baptism and encourage the children to bring in special items from their own baptism (We can receive these by email or photograph/copy them as we know how special they are).
In year 3 we focus on the sacrament of Penance/ Reconciliation. None of us are perfect and we will make mistakes- its important to own these mistakes and think about what you could do next time. Its also important that we show empathy and say sorry when we have done wrong.

Year Two
Baptism is a special meeting with Jesus when people are welcomed into the Church
The rite, the rituals and symbols of Baptism
Baptism makes people holy and is a symbol of cleansing
Baptism helps people share in the life of the Trinity
Baptism helps people share in God’s holiness - tapu and mana
Year Three
The  Sacrament of Penance restores friendship with God and others  
People receive forgiveness and healing and peace through Jesus
by recognising their sins and saying sorry in the Sacrament of Penance  
The important parts of the Rite of the Sacrament of Penance
Understanding what personal sin is, taking responsibility for it and expressing sorrow
Understanding what healing and growth means and how the Sacrament of Penance helps this
Sin violates tapu and causes hurt to others and this is restored by reconciliation
Through the Sacrament of Penance people make peace with God and with each other
Times of praying for forgiveness and saying sorry during the celebration of the Eucharist
The main concepts taught at St Joseph's Oamaru  and what we would like our children to gain through the Sacrament Strand teaching.
1. Grace is God's love and strength working with us and the world.
2. Sacraments bring grace.
3. Know the seven sacraments.
4. Know the signs and symbols of the sacraments

Tongan Translation: The Sacrament Stand- Ko e afo ‘o e Sakalameta
1) Grace is God's love and strength working with us and the world.- Ko e Kalāsia ko e ‘ofa ia ‘a e ‘Otua mo ‘ene ivi ngaue ‘ia kitautolu pea mo mamani.
     2) Sacraments bring grace. Ko e ngaahi Sakalameta ‘oku ne foaki ai ‘ene kalāsia
     3) Know the seven sacraments. Ke ‘ilo’i e ngaahi Sakalameta ‘e fitu.

     4) Know the signs and symbols of the sacraments- Ke ‘ilo’i e ngaahi faka’ilonga mo e fakatatā ‘o e ngaahi Sakalameta.
Tagalog Translation (Filipino): Ang Hibla ng Sakramento
1.   Ang grasya ay pagmamahal at lakas ng Diyos sa atin.
2.   Ang mga sakramento ay nagdadala ng grasya.
3.   Alamin ang  pitong  sakramento.
4.   Alamin ang senyas at simbolo ng mga sakramento.          
 These four concepts will be the context of the Sacrament strand teaching throughout the whole school. We do continue to teach the learning outcomes for the Religious Education curriculum at each year level in context of these four concepts. 

No comments:

Post a Comment