Tuesday, 2 December 2014

The waiting Season

Advent is a time of waiting, a time for families to prepare for Christmas. The birth of Jesus. In Ruma Rimu we are patiently waiting and recalling how Mary patiently waited with Elizabeth. We are getting excited and have had fun creating our class advent calendar and Christmas Tree.

The Advent wreath is a circular garland of evergreen branches representing eternity . On that wreath, four candles are typically arranged. During the season of Advent one candle on the wreath is lit each Sunday as a part of Advent. Each candle represents an aspect of the spiritual preparation for the coming of the Lord, Jesus.
Advent Wreath Candles
Set on the branches of the wreath are four candles : three purple candles and one pink candle.  As a whole, these candles represent the coming of the light of Christ into the world.
On the first Sunday of Advent, the first purple candle is lit. This candle is typically called the "Prophecy Candle" in remembrance of the prophets, primarily Isaiah, who foretold the birth of Christ. This candle represents hope or expectation in anticipation of the coming Messiah.
Each week on Sunday, an additional candle is lit. On the second Sunday of Advent, the second purple candle is lit. This candle typically represents love. Some traditions call this the "Bethlehem Candle," symbolizing Christ's manger.
On the third Sunday of Advent the pink, or rose-coloured candle is lit. This pink candle is customarily called the "Shepherds Candle" and it represents joy.

The fourth and last purple candle, oftentimes called the "Angels Candle," represents peace and is lit on the fourth Sunday of Advent.

No comments:

Post a Comment